Obama’s left hand

After studying vocabulary to describe physical appearances, my students wrote speeches about their favorite celebrities. Although most chose Lady Gaga, Ichiro Suzuki or Justin Bieber, Kayo described Barack Obama.

Therefore, in honor of the 57th presidential inauguration on Monday, I want to share her speech:

Obama 1

“My favorite celebrity is Barack Obama. He is the president of the United States of America. He is brack. He has short hair. He is tall and smart. He was elected president again in last week. He is left-handed. It is said that the president will be successful left-handed. I want to become a good president.”

As the speech prompt instructed, Kayo notes three physical characteristics. Obama is black, has short hair and is tall. Then, she moves on to Obama’s handedness and predicts that because he is left-handed, he will be successful. Obama has also encouraged her to do the impossible–become a good president. Thus, without getting all political, like Kayo, I hope you have a faith in Obama’s left hand and optimism for the next four years.

2 thoughts on “Obama’s left hand

  1. Katie, (Josh and Jeff Coburn’s Mom here..Sarah),
    I do enjoy your blogs, I catch up on a bunch at one time. I really enjoyed this one being that I teach English also. Fun project! Your posts are fun, inspiring and entertaining to say the least. Take care…with love.

    • Hi Ms. Coburn–thanks for your comment! It is good to hear from you and I’m glad you enjoy reading my blog. Let me know if there is anything specific you would like me to write about while in Japan! I hope all is well with you and your family!

Leave a Reply

