Happy anniversary

Today is my anniversary. However, rather than receiving a bouquet of roses from a dashing gentleman, I’ve received an invaluable opportunity from a country full of patience and charm.

Watching fireworks in Onomichi and wearing a “yukata” was the perfect way to welcome summer in Japan.

A year ago, clueless and terrified, I boarded a plane in Washington D.C. During that 14-hour flight to Tokyo, I started crying above the Midwest, stopped crying above the west coast and felt hints of excitement above the Pacific Ocean.

Since then, I have adjusted to my new life and developed a daily routine. However, most days, that daily routine is a mere outline and the people and situations surrounding me fill in the lines–sometimes neatly and sometimes abstractly–but, without fail–colorfully. Today was no different.

I woke up and went to school. On the train, I kicked it with some third-year students who think I resemble Blake Lively. I won’t tell them that this comparison is completely irrational and unrealistic because I secretly like it–a lot. (And, yes that link will take you to “Betch of the Week.”) Next, I played table tennis with the table tennis team for three hours. Every team member could teach Forrest Gump a thing or two. Then, I discovered that a history teacher speaks amazing English and we chatted about “The Federalist Papers.” After coming home, I concluded the evening by playing volleyball with two friends and a team full of the loveliest and sportiest Japanese women, most of whom are in their 40s or 50s.

Although my anniversary fell on a seemingly normal day, it was full of unexpected happenings. I love the unpredictability of my life in Japan. There are certainly bad days when I would like nothing more than a piece of cornbread and a glass of sweet tea, but for the most part, something or someone always makes me smile. I can only hope to form more relationships and encounter more surprises during my second year in Japan.

3 thoughts on “Happy anniversary

  1. Katie,Think of you often.What an amazing journey you are living each day.Happy Anniversary and all the best for this next year.Luv,Sharon ,Thomas and Patrick

  2. Pingback: Sayonara Summer | sofarwestitseast

Leave a Reply

