You’re wearing that?

There are some things in life that absolutely no one grows out of: an addiction to cherry-coke ICEEs, the joy of catching and putting lightning bugs in a jar, the confidence to occasionally rock pigtails, a dangerous passion for those spinning things on old playgrounds, and an ardent enthusiasm for playing dress-up.

Recognizing these steadfast rules of life, I adapted that last one for a warm-up activity in my classes. My students’ sidekick of a textbook had chosen to highlight vocabulary for describing clothing and physical attributes. Don’t ask me why adjectives such as plaid, checkered and striped are essential vocabulary, but they certainly make for an exciting activity.

Basically, I divided the students into teams. Each team selected one member to be the “model.” Another student drew vocabulary words out of a hat. A third student searched for the items in a massive pile of clothes and the final student dressed her team’s model.

There you have it ladies and gentlemen–a simple, yet epic dress-up battle.

Prior to this activity, I could have never fathomed the enthusiasm 15- and 16-year-old boys would display when asked to wear skinnies or a dress. I also did not anticipate that all my 15- and 16-year-old girls would adore cowgirl boots and aviators. However, needless to say, my students approve of my wardrobe–and, to top it all off–they can name and describe each accessory and article of clothing.

2 thoughts on “You’re wearing that?

  1. Think I will wait to write a book until I have some clue as to what I am doing : )

    However, thanks for the encouragement! I find that collaborating on lessons is the ONLY way to keep them interesting for the students. I find a lot of my ideas at Dave’s ESL Cafe and then tweak them so they (hopefully) last for the allotted time period. Anyways, usually I plan a lesson and then just jump in for the ride, hoping it will all work out!

Leave a Reply

