Happy new year

After an incredibly busy, but wonderfully relaxing winter holiday in North Carolina, I suppose it is time for an obligatory New Year’s blog post.

A year ago, I thought this year would have little significance (as far as years go). I simply looked at it as the year after I graduated from college and ventured to Japan. I also refer to that year, 2011, as one of the best years of my life. I assumed that in 50 years, at the ripe age of 73, I would say, “Oh, I think I learned to speak Italian and Spanish sometime after I graduated.” Or, “oh, I went skydiving sometime after I lived in Japan. Must’ve been 2012 or 2013. Wait, no maybe it was 2015?”

However, as I was counting down the last ten seconds of 2011, I realized that 2012 has just as much potential to be fabulous (if not more so), as 2011. There I was with two of my best friends in one of our favorite Chapel Hill bars. In six days I would return to Japan for at least another seven months. Friends, drinks and travels? Talk about potential.

For the past, I don’t know, 13 years of my life, I have remembered the year according to what grade I had recently completed. After high school, 2007 was my benchmark. I assumed that 2011 would be similar. But, along with several other New Year’s resolutions, I have decided to define my own year, rather than let it be defined for me. No longer will I remember the year by backtracking or fronttracking (Is that allowed? Clearly, I’m forgetting English over here) from 2007 or 2011. Although I cannot predict what this year has in store for me, I can confidently say it will be memorable. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

