There’s no place like home

I will not leave Fukuyama by clicking my heels together three times. However, exactly one month from today, I will board a plane in Hiroshima, stop in Tokyo, Chicago and Washington D.C. and, before I can blink my eyes, land in the one and only, Raleigh, N.C. If only a tornado would come and pick me up, I might get there more quickly. Clearly, Dorothy didn’t realize how good she had it.

Regardless of my preferred method of transportation, I am beyond excited to come home for Christmas. Although I have, admittedly, given a small piece of my heart to Japan, I will always want to celebrate the holidays with my family. Therefore, I will be in the southern part of heaven for approximately 15 days. I plan to spend my time relaxing with family and friends, playing with my parents’ new puppy, eating American food, drinking Mexican drinks (see also: margaritas), reading billboards (because I can) and eavesdropping on conversations (again, because I can).

Believe it or not, my wardrobe lacks Dorothy's sparkly red shoes. These will have to make due.

For the past 22 years, I have done essentially the same things during every holiday season. And, for some reason, I absolutely cannot wait to do them all a 23rd time. After all, there’s no place like home.

5 thoughts on “There’s no place like home

  1. Awww! We miss you and can’t wait for you to get home for the holidays!! Have a great few weeks and safe travels – See you Dec. 22! 🙂

  2. Awww yea!!! Katie I didn’t know you will be home for Christmas. I will make an extra effort to come visit on Christmas day then so that you can meet my boyfriend then.

Leave a Reply

