Falling for Japan

Before anyone calls me out on it, I realize that both this post and my last post use the word falling in the title. Put simply, the repetition can’t be helped. I’ve been doing quite a lot of falling lately–whether it be falling up the stairs or falling in love with, well, fall itself. I cannot be blamed for my inner thesaurus falling short on the synonym-for-fall front (my apologies–I couldn’t resist doing it once more).

Fall, or autumn as all my Japanese students and British friends call it, is my favorite time of the year. Not only do I celebrate my birthday and Halloween, but I also adore grandpa sweaters, colorful leaves and seasonal delights from Starbucks (yes, they have gingerbread, pumpkin spice and eggnog lattes in Japan).

Beautiful yellow and burgundy leaves beside the A-bomb dome in Hiroshima.

Therefore, a few weeks ago, I decided to gauge the love of fall amongst my students. For each chapter, they write a speech relating to the content studied. After studying weather vocabulary, I asked them to write about their favorite season. Although I had students who like the cherry blossoms of spring, the sweltering dungeon of an oven called summer and the holidays of winter, most students wrote about the beauty of fall.

Harvest time in the country side of Japan.

Most of the time, my students do their best to creatively write about whatever topic I (or my predecessor) managed to come up with it–whether it be their preference between movies and television shows or uniforms and street clothes. However, this time, my students wrote absolutely beautiful speeches. I am sure their dictionaries and online translators got some serious exercise, but I certainly enjoyed reading the speeches this time around. Below are some of my favorite excerpts:

“When the seasons change from summer to fall, a tree thickly covered with foliage turns red and it is beautiful.”

“Leaves turn orange, red and yellow. They are beautiful and glow in the sky at sunset.”

“I like to eat delicious autumnal foods, such as chestnuts and persimmons. They are very delicious.”

“The scent of the retiring autumnal leaves carried by the fall breeze is very pleasant.”

“Autumn is much warmer than winter and it is much colder than summer. The temperature is just perfect for me.”

“Everyone looks happy in the autumn. Autumn makes a good atmosphere.”

Persimmons grow literally everywhere.

I know. Aren’t they amazing? Walt Whitman better watch his back because “Leaves of Grass” doesn’t stand a chance against these speeches. Kidding, obviously. But, I must say I’m quite the proud teacher and just a happy person in general because fall is in full swing around Hiroshima.

One thought on “Falling for Japan

  1. Pingback: Sayonara Summer | sofarwestitseast

Leave a Reply

