A very happy birthday

I absolutely love birthdays. In the advent of social media madness, it is rare that a day goes by without receiving a reminder that one or more of my acquaintances is celebrating a birthday. However, these are not the birthdays I love. Rather, I love the birthdays of my best friends and family–those that are permanently penciled in on my mental agenda.

Last Friday, October 7, I celebrated my 23rd birthday. I can now say I’ve celebrated my birthday on three different continents and in four different countries–America, England, Switzerland and Japan. Although I am not sure of birthday logistics, I may have celebrated this year’s birthday 13 hours early. Regardless of time zone technicalities, this birthday definitely tops my own birthday chart.

My friends prepared a delicious strawberry-kiwi birthday dessert!

My mom sent me a package full of birthday treats. It arrived on my doorstep two hours before I turned 23-years-old!

Prior to this year, I never expected to have a birthday cake decorated in any language except English. I also never expected to receive a box full of American goodies and birthday treats. This year, I was surprised by both.

It seems that people everywhere are excited by birthdays. No matter where I celebrate, those around me (and those who are oceans away) go out of their way to make me feel special. Perhaps my love for birthday celebrations will fade as I get older, however, if future birthdays are anything like this one, I seriously doubt it.

3 thoughts on “A very happy birthday

  1. Happy belated birthday, Katie! I’m so happy to hear 23 was a good one. If you’re anything like me, you’ll continue to love your birthday (and others’) for a long time! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Falling for Japan | sofarwestitseast

Leave a Reply

