Countdown to takeoff

In exactly 10 days, I will board an airplane and fly to Tokyo, Japan. In Tokyo, I, along with all first-year JET participants will attend workshops and lectures prior to traveling to our placement cities. Along with adjusting to the time difference and playing in the city, Tokyo orientation intends to provide JETs with basic information and assist with cultural preparations.

That being said, it’s high time I pack my bags. Four days ago, I was leaving in two weeks. Somewhere in between those 14 days dwindling down to 10, I’ve realized that I can only procrastinate so much longer. I have a sneaking suspicion that gathering everything I may need over the next year and cramming it into two checked bags, a carry-on and a personal item may, in fact, be much more difficult than anticipated.

Next time you see all this luggage, it will be much bigger, much heavier and ready to accompany me to Japan! Regardless, I think we can confidently predict that I will not be a candidate for TLC’s Hoarding: Buried Alive show whilst living in Japan…

Leave a Reply

